Author Topic: Unfinished basement for bug in shelter  (Read 1118 times)

Offline Reaper_1

• Prepper Apprentice
Unfinished basement for bug in shelter
« on: December 28, 2011, 11:43:33 PM »
Question, I've got a small (30x30ft) unfinished basement that has my hot water heater/furnance in it.  How could I reinforce the ceiling in preparation of a SHTF event?  The only access to this area is a small 2x3 ft opening in a bedroom closet, and 2 very small (12x6 inches) vents on the outside.  Realistic ideas too, I'm not a millionaire.

backwoodsboy

Re: Unfinished basement for bug in shelter
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2011, 12:12:42 AM »
im not a expert but the only thing i can think of now is maybe a couple 4x4 boards that fit tight from the floor to the cieling where some of the support is.

Offline thatGuy

• Kind Lover
  • Community Moderator
    • thatGuy's youtube
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2011, 12:16:11 AM »
Let me make sure I got this right. You got a basement. You want to beef up the floor above it?

goodnightChesty1775

« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2011, 12:45:15 AM »
TG is a carpenter if im not mistaken.

but me and my buddy reinforced a sheds roof (to make a patio area type thing on the top) we just built 2 "frames" just like garage frames, but flat, about 8'x2' with 4x4s 2x4s across the short distance and plywood on top. we built them inside the shed so it could still be used and then the roof was strong as heck.

now are you talking about reinforcing it against a human breaking in?

Offline v0dka

• Firefigher EMT-P
  • Senior Prepper
  • flecktastic!!
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2011, 01:02:37 AM »
Yeah there isn't a celling in a basement, unless your taking about drywall or something.

I don't think it's a realistic idea to do this. What are you looking to protect against?
sic luceat lux

Offline Reaver

• Hardcore Prepper
  • I just want it to start already
    • ASTINvlogs
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2011, 01:57:18 AM »