Author Topic: Howdy from Wisconsin  (Read 1405 times)

chenmi

Howdy from Wisconsin
« on: February 09, 2015, 03:22:30 PM »
My wife and I started prepping in 2009 after I studied the causes of the Great recession.  I concluded the causes were only one small part of a much bigger problem.  The big problem, IMHO, is the unrestricted growth in the human population.  I think all the major problems can be related to the resulting competition for resources, most importantly those that are scarce or dwindling.  I will post specifics for comment and debate as I get time.  I am a retired HS science teacher and computer network admin.

I am concerned, especially with the prepper community.  We preppers, as more likely survivors of TEOTWAWKI, need to keep our independent critical thinking as clear and fact based as we can.  People tend to live near and associate/socialize with people who think like themselves.  Studies document this in US.   Sometimes the consistency of the opinions around them lead groups to think they have a lock on the truth.  "After all, everyone I know agrees with me."  Thus as a group their ideas develop a life of their own. They then tend to scoff at facts and ideas that don't fit the group consensus without looking at the merits. They dismiss data that doesn't fit as lies. Theories that don't fit are conspiracies, typically by unnamed groups who stand to gain financially. Let me step on some toes by offering examples like the Democrats, Republicans, anti-vaccination advocates, both fracking and anti-fracking groups, carbon tax advocates and climate change deniers.