Author Topic: Hello from the California Central Coast  (Read 2224 times)

gsfields2004

Hello from the California Central Coast
« on: January 20, 2014, 01:14:57 PM »
All,

My name is Greg and I'm a newbie prepper and a newbie author/screenwriter of post-apocalyptic fiction.  My newest published work is a novel called Under Vanishing Skies which hit #1 in Post-Apocalyptic and Dystopian fiction on Amazon's Best Seller lists. 

Now before you start pelting me with insults (or more physically damaging things) for an unsolicited promotional post here within the sanctity of Unchained Preppers, let me assure you that I'm not here to sell you anything.  I'm here to learn more about survival techniques and the prepper communities for a screenplay that I'm currently writing. 

My own prepping experience is pretty limited.  I grow my own grapes and produce wine and vinegar.  I grow my own olive trees for fruit and oil. I raise my own livestock for meat, milk, and other biproducts.  I preserve the fruits and vegatables I grow and I store seeds.  When civilization crumbles, I plan to continue to eat well.  And while I served in the US Air Force for 23 years, my overall background in weapons and tactics are pretty limited.  Let's face it, the Air Force doesn't do a great job teaching survival skills outside of how to book a hotel room in a combat zone.

I've been a voracious reader of post-apocalyptic novels since the tender age of 10. Alas Babylon was my first. Over the years I've noticed that most books and movies portray survivalists and doomsday preppers as two dimensional characters...usually dumb hicks with a screw or two loose. There are some exceptions of course, but for the most part this is what I find in books and movies.  I'm hoping to change that, or at the very least offer a more holistic and realistic characterization of preppers as individuals.