Author Topic: Help Choosing Land for Place to Live  (Read 956 times)

Offline Grudgie

• Committed prepper
Help Choosing Land for Place to Live
« on: August 16, 2012, 12:28:27 AM »
I don't really know much about land or how to live off of it. But I will sure as dam well try.

I am just in the brainstorming phase really. I am young and I have a lot of time to gather knowledge and plan this out (I'm 20 for all you curious cats out there).

I've been looking around on landsof'insert name of state here' for awhile. Great site.

I was wondering if you guys could share some of your thoughts on which part of the country I should be looking to live.

Here is a list of priorities I want in land:
- Water. Either plentiful well water sites or a good surface water stream nearby. Preferably both.
- Land that is good for growing general vegtables and grain
- A climate that is suitable for atleast a 4-5 month growing season.
- Plentiful animal life that I can shoot
- Suitable vegetation to accomodate a hive or so of bees
- Land that can grow Fruit trees/vines/berry bushes
- Atleast a little rain every now and then

And a few bugaboos that aren't really esiential:
- A place free of dam mosquitos!
- A state preferably with good gun laws (Whyoming, Montana, etc)
- Would be pretty cool to have a few harvestable maple trees but I know that is very regional
- Would prefer cheaper acerage land that I can build upon and improve
- I want to step outside and be able to shoot a .308 and not fear hitting someone for 360 degrees.

I'll list more if I think of any. So whose got some ideas?
« Last Edit: August 16, 2012, 12:33:49 AM by Grudgie »

Offline NOLA556

• Hardcore Prepper
Re: Help Choosing Land for Place to Live
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2012, 01:01:49 AM »