Author Topic: DIY Tech for prep  (Read 1494 times)

gadget99

DIY Tech for prep
« on: April 15, 2016, 11:23:17 AM »
Hi All,

Going to do a bit of a DIY Tech thread here.

Look I am a bit of a tech guy. Hell my callsign and nickname in the Army was Gadget. That was mid 80s to mid 90s.

So here is the deal.

While we as preppers tend to shy away from tech at time for many reasons. I have embraced the Gadget in me and have been coming up with some potential game changing thoughts.

Over time I will post in this thread what I am thinking for review and comment.

My first post is a big one in my mind.

Smartphones namely andriod ones are a game changer in my view.

This is a handheld computer that can now cheaply do a massive amount.

The first idea is that if you take a cheap android phone without a sim you still have a compass, gps, ebook reader and you can still communicate over wifi.

The floor is now open.

Offline Well-Prepared Witch

• Committed prepper
    • The Well-Prepared Witch
Re: DIY Tech for prep
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2016, 12:40:59 PM »
I agree!  My smartphone long ago replaced pretty much my whole purse: GPS, notebook, book, contact book, calendar, phone, iPod, ruler (I'm a knitter - I use it for gauge and when to move on to the next section), laptop, mirror, radio, etc.  I even have access to all my home files via a virtual server, so I have access to important documents, and with apps for certain banks/insurance companies/stores/etc. I don't have to have my payment, medical, or ID cards to hand. 

I'm assuming we're not talking household appliances, but small, portable preps that could be charged with one of those little solar chargers?  Everything from power tools (I <3 my cordless drill as it is so versatile) to stoves to washers and dryers can be considered gadgets otherwise. :D  Hmm... I'll have to ponder that one.
If that which you seek you find not within yourself, you shall never find it without.  - Charge of the Goddess, Doreen Valiente