Author Topic: Home Brew 160 meter, 3/8 wave, Inverted 'L' Project/Part 2  (Read 1754 times)

Online JohnyMac

• Administrator
Home Brew 160 meter, 3/8 wave, Inverted 'L' Project/Part 2
« on: January 15, 2018, 12:58:22 PM »
Article Two – The Execution

The items ordered and purchased locally for the proposed 160-meter, 3/8 wave, inverted ‘L’ was stockpiled in my work shed. I received the afore mentioned pneumatic potato gun i at my local ham clubs Christmas party on December 9th, so I had run out of excuses to not get “cracken” and hoist that bad boy.

I started shooting the mortar shell the next day over the selected trees. It wasn’t as easy as it might sound as temperatures were in the teens and the wind was a steady 10 mph with some 20 mph gusts to consider. Not unlike a sniper working up a dope sheet it took me awhile to get the right angel and windage to make it over the correct spot on the tree. Then also consider the temperature which as mentioned earlier, was in the teens. Apparently, the PVC ball valve leaked when outside too long due to the temperature. So, I would get one to two launches before I had to take the gun back into the cabin to warm up. 

Started with 60 psi which got me up to around 70 feet, which was too low for my needs. Finally ended up having to use 120 psi to get the mortar shell and monofilament line over the 120-foot-high pine trees located in the desired locations.